Fame V.s Freedom

Fame, something some people dream off; but once they have it, it’s not what they expected. I’ve never wanted to become famous, and I’m not (thank God), but I can’t help feel sorry for some people. All your freedom gone, everyone in the entire world knowing what you’re doing, where you are, whom you’re with. If you’re dating someone, if you’re single, I could go on and on, but you get my drift. So how much of your former self do you sacrifice for the new version? Do you become lost and lash out? Do you just simply play the role you are given? How do you deal with suddenly being catapulted to stardom, when you’re still trying to figure out who you are?
I have no answers to these questions that I’m asking, but I think it would be extremely hard to know if people like or love you for whom you are, or whether they’re just using you for their own gains.

Recently, I’ve been following someone on Twitter and Facebook, whose new relationship has caused a stir on social media, with some user’s getting nasty. If you’re not sure whom I’m speaking about, it’s Harry Styles, from One Direction.
Granted, he’s talented, but for some reason, I feel sorry for him. Sure, he’s got the career he’s always wanted, but somehow I feel as though he’s been targeted by fans, more than the other boys, by his choice in women. We’ve all read stories of his love affairs, but his current relationship, rumoured to be with none other but Taylor Swift, is causing poor Harry some grief. Sure, some of you might say he needs to deal with it like everyone else, and other’s will just write their disappointment, or in extreme cases; their hate for Taylor; also known as ” not shipping the relationship.” I had to ask my 15-year-old cousin what ” ship” meant. As you can imagine, the term made eyes roll.
But again, why is Harry’s love life, or any other celebrities love life our business? Don’t we love them for what they do? Personally, I love the music One Direction has, but I’m not about to stalk the poor boys and tell them home much I like or don’t like their choice in girlfriends ( for the record, I like them all).

It’s their choice, their life and whom are we, as fans, or observers to judge their personal decisions in life? Who gives us the authority to abuse or misuse social media platforms, just because we don’t approve? For me, I like the music and the movies my favourite celebrities make, but I’m not going to write obscene comments on social media about the personal lives; I have no right.
I look at it like this, place yourself in their shoes? How would you feel? How would you feel if complete strangers starting abusing you, calling you all sorts of names, just because you’re with someone you like? I wouldn’t want it to happen to me, or anyone I know.

So I ask, once more; whom are we as fans of these celebrities to judge their choices in life and comment on them, when we have no idea what it’s like on the other side of the fence?

Would love to hear your thoughts 🙂

2 thoughts on “Fame V.s Freedom

  1. I think fame can be a tool, like wealth. It is neither good or bad in itself, but often reveals the character of the one who has it. No one likes hearing people bash them, but it does give them a platform to show the world how to turn the other cheek. In the end I agree with you. We should not judge things we do not know of.

    • I guess you take the good with the bad. Thanks for the comment, sorry it’s taken me a while to reply.

Leave a Reply

