To Quote Marcus Aurelius

 

 

 

Image supplied by : housesardis.blogspot.com

Every morning I wake up, I open a book I bought from my local library and read a ranom passage and think about it during the day.
This morning I woke up to this passage by Marcus Aurelius.

Accept the things to which fate binds you, and love the people with whom fate brings you together, but do so with all your heart.

 

I have often thought about what fate means and how it plays a role in my everyday life. I’m not a very religious person, but I do believe that things or people come into our lives for a reason, and I always like to know the reason.
So when fate steps in, I’m left wondering what the purpose of this person/s is, and how it will connect me to them for the rest of my life.
Right now, two people have returned to my life, and I’m left wondering whether fate is playing a role, or whether there is a lesson I must learn; yet again.
I’m not very good at expressing my emotions out loud, but have no problem expressing it on paper, so when I’m confronted with a situation, I stumble like any other person.
So what does Marcus Aurelius mean by his quote?
I am to accept the return of the persons that has returned to my life, to love those who have been brought to my life, but to make sure I love them with all my heart?
Perhaps I’m reading too much into it, but somehow this quote makes perfect sense to me now.

Leave a Reply

